News Desk

Are You Prepared?
What you need to know about the 2019 aged care reform

The aged care sector has been under the spotlight for some time. As a result, from 1st July 2019, organisations providing Commonwealth-subsidised aged care services must comply with the new Aged Care Quality Standards.

The new Standards signal a paradigm-shift in aged care, moving the focus to outcomes for residents, and placing greater emphasis on the level of care expected from organisations that provide these services.
What does this mean for you?
Organisations will be assessed and must be able to provide ongoing evidence of their compliance and performance to meet government requirements.
While Standard 7 focuses on HR practices, every standard has workforce implications that must be understood and addressed.
The Quality Standards are:
  1. Consumer dignity and choice
  2. Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers
  3. Personal care and clinical care
  4. Services and supports for daily living
  5. Organisation’s service environment
  6. Feedback and complaints
  7. Human resources
  8. Organisational governance
With just over a month to go, we’re advising clients to take action now to avoid the risk of far-reaching consequences. This begins with investing in the necessary support and resources prior to the July 1st deadline.
The 8 Quality Standards - a snapshot

Standard 1 highlights the importance of consumer-centred care that allows residents to act independently, make their own choices and take part in their community. This is the foundation that supports all other Standards in order to optimise independence, health, well-being and quality of life.

Standard 2 focuses on what you need to do to assess and plan care and services in accordance with residents’ needs, goals and preferences. This involves reviewing your current systems and providing action plans to meet requirements.

Standard 3 ensures that personal and clinical care is delivered safety and effectively. Your workforce must demonstrate effective care, communication and risk management processes. This calls for supportive systems, documentation, education and ongoing assistance.

Standard 4 aims to help residents live as independently as possible and enjoy daily life. This includes making sure that policies and procedures are in place, and that your staff have enough time to provide the necessary care and treatment as per the resident's assessed requirements.

Standard 5 covers common living areas and social spaces through which care and services are delivered. Your organisation is expected to provide a physical environment that is clean, comfortable, welcoming and well-maintained.

Standard 6 requires your organisation to have a system to address feedback and resolve complaints. The system must be accessible, confidential, prompt and fair.

Standard 7 focuses on HR compliance and workforce training to deliver quality, consumer-directed care. This requires you to align all your organisation’s HR systems and practices with a comprehensive list of outcomes.

Standard 8 insists on strong organisational governance that underpins ALL operations, systems and decision-making. This seeks to ensure your residents are safe, well cared for and well sustained.

Key requirements and workforce implications
We will regularly be posting a snapshot of the requirements and implications for each of the 8 Quality Standards, starting with Standards 7 and 8: HR and Compliance.
  • Workforce implications of Standard 7: Human Resources
  • Workforce implications of Standard 8: Compliance:
Need support?
At Realise Performance, we offer specialist support that ensures both you and your workforce are well-prepared for what’s ahead.
We can support your transition to the new aged care quality standards along with strategies and programs designed to enable your workforce to deliver exceptional, compliant care.
Contact for a free initial consultation.